Want to join this opportunity ?

That's great but you need to REGISTER or LOGIN to join in the fun.

Ward Companion - Warrington

Volunteers will support patients who are at risk of falling in the ward by breaking up their days with engaging activities, being a befriender and supporting the patients requests as appropriate while nurse staff are unavailable.



You will be helping to:

•Provide social support to patients on a day to day basis e.g engage them in conversations and provide attention to patients when ward is under pressure.

•Make staff aware of patients’ needs and requests as appropriate

•Make staff aware if patient feels unwell or they have any concerns

•Encourage and support patients to complete the Trust’s Friends and Family survey

•Take the lead and show new volunteers around the ward so they are familiar with the setting

•Co-ordinate activities around patients interests to help build a social network within the ward to help with loneliness

•Support staff to make phone calls or run errands when required


Warrington & Halton Hospitals Nhs Foundation Trust, WA51QG

Being part of a great team

Good communication and listening skills understanding confidentiality caring and friendly

befriending,talking to patients,Listening,observing,run errands

You must be over 16 years old You need a criminal check You need an induction Accessible Age Groups Mixed

Open from Friday 31st March 2017 to Wednesday 1st April 2020

Closing on Sunday 31st December 2017 in 38 days.

offered by Voluntary Services

Latest Feedback

Left on Thursday 16th November 2017 for Ward Assistant- Warrington Stroke Ward B14

Lovely staff . Friendly .Very informative . Interesting and fulfilling role .

Left on Thursday 7th September 2017 for Discharge Lounge Volunteer

Made very welcome by the staff and after a slow start, was kept on my toes! I love being busy, so I enjoyed it.

Left on Wednesday 30th August 2017 for Discharge Lounge Volunteer

It was well organised and the staff were friendly.

Left on Monday 28th August 2017 for What Matters To Me - Conversation Facilitator (Warrington)

This was the inaugural session, attended by staff, board members, governors, staff and volunteers. We learned a lot from our first stab at it. I am definitely up for helping at future ones, not only to re-engage with patients and visitors but also, to put this learning into practice. I think the form needs reviewing to make the questions more user-friendly.

Left on Sunday 6th August 2017 for Ward Buddy C23

Saturday 7 January 5 hours Saturday 14 January 4 hours Saturday 28 January 4 hours 30 minutes Saturday 4 February 4 hours Saturday 11 February 4 hours From 14 February to end June - recovering knee replacement Saturday 8 July 3 hours Saturday 15 July 4 hours Saturday 22 July 4 hours Saturday 29 July 5 hours Saturday 5 August 4 hours 30 minutes

Left on Monday 31st July 2017 for Ward Assistant- Warrington Stroke Ward B14

everyone on the ward has been really helpful. Nice having more role clarity

Location


TeamKinetic - Powering another volunteer community